Print this page

October 18, 2020 - “Autumn Blessing”: concert of AGBU Sofia Chamber Orchestra

Apr 12, 2021

On October 18, AGBU Sofia Chamber Orchestra, under the direction of Levon Manukyan, delighted their audience with another concert, part of the autumn cycle. This time the orchestra 's performance was committed to a cause-support for the Armenians, victims of the military conflict in Artsakh / Nagorno-Karabakh /, and all voluntarily raised funds will be donated for help and empathy in this terrible war. The program that the conductor had chosen was characterized by emphasized expressiveness and strong emotional charge. It also contained works by the Armenian composers Glazunov and Piazzolla, which sounded in harmony with the key message of the concert. 

This time the "lead role" was shared between soloist and orchestra on an equal footing. The very first piece "Nocturne" by Eduard Bagdasarov revealed the rich sound palette and expressive abilities of the musicians from the chamber ensemble. The appearance of the soloist - Arsen Hadjian - saxophone followed. The audience recognizes him as one of the young, talented names of Armenia, a participant in the concert with AGBU Sofia Chamber Orchestra in 2013. Now the saxophonist, who arrived from France, has demonstrated a remarkable growth as an already mature musician, perfectly mastering his instrument. Arsen Hadjian and his Bulgarian colleagues performed together a Concerto for Saxophone and String Orchestra by Glazunov. This is a complex, multi-layered, symphonic-sounding piece, full with many challenges for both the soloist and the orchestra, which has an equally important role. The young saxophonist, on the other hand, was technically impeccable, showed great sound nuance and knowledge of the details in the interpretation, and the orchestra skillfully followed him and partnered with him in every respect. The overall performance was highly appreciated by the audience. With high empathy, Arsen Hadjian, contributed to the events in Artsakh while performing the famous play "Krunk" by Komitas - a truly emblematic work for all Armenians, that the saxophonist played emotionally and with great impact. The other impressive orchestral performance was the Piazzolla Tango. Typically in the style of the composer, in the rhythmic structure of the tango many beautiful melodic lines and interesting, author- specific means of expression are included. It was proven again that AGBU Sofia Chamber Orchestra is not only a great ensemble, but also a group of outstanding musicians. The series of solo parts of the concertmaster and group leaders were a great demonstration of their instrumental qualities and knowledge of the composer's style. The extreme moment of the concert was the famous Libertango by Piazzolla, with which the orchestra and Arsene Hadjian once again emotionally warmed up the atmosphere and put a proper end to the musical evening.   


001.jpg 0010.jpg 0011.jpg

0012.jpg 0013.jpg 0014.jpg

0015.jpg 0016.jpg 0017.jpg

0018.jpg 0019.jpg 002.jpg

0020.jpg 0021.jpg 0023.jpg

0024.jpg 0026.jpg 0027.jpg

0028.jpg 0029.jpg 003.jpg

0030.jpg 0031.jpg 0032.jpg

0034.jpg 0035.jpg 0036.jpg

0037.jpg 0038.jpg 0039.jpg

004.jpg 0040.jpg 0041.jpg

0042.jpg 0043.jpg 0044.jpg

0045.jpg 0047.jpg 0048.jpg

0049.jpg 005.jpg 0050.jpg

0051.jpg 0052.jpg 0053.jpg

0054.jpg 0055.jpg 006.jpg

007.jpg 008.jpg 009.jpg

Last modified on Monday, 12 April 2021 18:02